top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Marriott

Hello Everyone

Well, here I am, 2 weeks in and still racking up the miles. So far all joints still seem to be functioning correctly and at 52 miles - so the next 50 should be easier (they tell me!).

At the moment I’m having to keep local, starting and finishing at home in Farnham and using the Strava app on my phone to tell me how far I’ve travelled each day. I’ve been really lucky with the weather so far but it looks like the next days could be much more blustery and wet so I predict that VERY short walks between downpours could be on the cards.

From 29 March onwards we should be a little freer and I will be getting out and about more, taking plenty of 3 mile+ walks in some of the lovely spring countryside around other Waverley towns and villages. As far as my other two challenges are concerned, I will have to wait for the leisure centres to re-open (hopefully 12 April) before I can start swimming ‘100’ lengths plus finally getting some cycling lessons to learn to ride a bike ‘100’ yards to complete my 100+100+100 challenge.

As I said previously, I can see that young families and young people are among the most affected by this pandemic and even more by its aftermath, so all the charities I am raising money for are at the forefront for helping these groups in Waverley.

One of these is Waverley Home Start which uses local trained and experienced volunteers to provide support to young families. Nothing can quite prepare you for the changes to your life that parenthood brings and when you add on to that the separation that COVID-19 has brought, it’s not surprising that some young families need just a little help to get them through. The Home Start charities are going to be very much in demand over the next few months/years - just at a time when they can’t raise money in the usual ways. This is a very worthwhile cause so please sponsor me on my JustGiving page by clicking here.


It does not have to be a big donation as every little will help. Thank you.


This is me in the March showers near the Maltings in Farnham.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page