top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Marriott

The challenge is on

Updated: Apr 25, 2021

Thanks to the relaxation in restrictions, I have had to modify the time frame of my 100+100+100 challenge…

In its wisdom the Government has decided that councils cannot hold their formal councillor meetings remotely after 6 May and as such this has meant that the new Mayor will now be elected on 27 April which has given me a month less to learn how to ride a bike!

So now the challenge is on and even more strenuous than before in that I need to walk 100 miles, swim 100 lengths and cycle 100 km on a static bike (again having done 0 km/cm on any type of bike previously) before the end of April.

Having tried out the ‘bike’ this afternoon in Farnham Sports Centre (now reopen), I can see I will have to develop some muscles or I won’t finish before Christmas let alone by 27 April. On the plus side I have now walked 99 miles - keeping the last mile to do alongside the last length and the last KM (on the bike) all on the same day and hopefully whilst I am still Mayor.

I will still endeavour to learn how to ride a bike and do a mobile bonus of a 100 metres as a ‘virtual past Mayor’ in the last month before I should have handed over the chain (25 May) and will continue to fundraise until then for my three fantastic charities.

Wish me luck and please sponsor me on my JustGiving page by visiting: https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/waverleymayors100plus100plus100challenge

It does not have to be a big donation as every little will help. Thank you.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page