top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePenny Marriott

My challenge as Waverley's Mayor

As you might expect, being a ‘virtual’ Mayor has been a very strange experience and very far from what I might have expected in more usual times.

Since my year began last June 2020 until it’s end in May this year, we will have been in one stage or another of restrictions - going from what seems now like relative freedom in the summer to periods of total lockdown. So the normal work of being a mayor has mostly involved ‘Zooming’ here and there.

One of the big downsides has been that I have not been able to visit all the wonderful charities here in Waverley and the fantastic volunteers that staff them. They so freely give their time to help us improve our lives in so many different ways.

It is the custom for the Mayor to support some of these charities and this year it is so much more difficult to choose one charity over another as they are all in need of help, support and funding. However, with difficulty I have chosen three charities which all involve families and young people in some way.

I can see that young families and young people are going to be very affected by this pandemic and even more by its aftermath, so all of these charities are at the forefront of local help in Waverley. The first is Waverley Home Start which uses local trained volunteers to provide help and support to young families. The second is Farnham and District Sea Cadets which helps boys, girls, young men and young women to develop themselves and their interests. The third is 40 Degreez, a children and youth project in the centre of Farnham which provides a safe space for mothers with young children, school children and young adults of all ages, who need rest and respite in their lives.

I hope you can support me in supporting them in completing my challenge of the three tons, 100 +100 + 100. I am of an age where I don’t really like to look at the numbers anymore but I can walk and swim so my aim is to walk 100 miles and swim 100 lengths before the end of my mayoral year on 25 May 2021. The other 100 is much more challenging for me as I have got to my ripe old age (75) without learning to ride a bike! So in the interest of the environment, I will learn to ride a bike and ride 100 yds without putting my feet down. Believe me when I say that this may require the addition of a wheel or two to a normal bike to complete but I will persevere!

To support me in my challenge visit my JustGiving page by clicking here. Please give all you can to these three charities as they are very worthy recipients and will be thankful of anything that you can give.

This is me putting my best foot forward in the beautiful North Farnham Fields...


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page